clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Atlantic 10 Basketball Awards 2012: Brian Conklin Headlines List For St. Louis Billikens

The 2012 Atlantic 10 Conference men's basketball awards are out, and the St. Louis Billikens are well represented across the board. Brian Conklin made the first-team All-Conference squad, while Kwamain Mitchell earned third-team honors. Conklin and Kyle Cassity made the All-Academic team, while Jordair Jett showed up on the All-Defensive team.

Despite their impressive season and No. 2 seed in the 2012 A-10 Tournament, the Billikens did not pull down any top honors in the conference. Temple's Fran Dunphy won Coach of the Year, Andrew Nicholson of St. Bonaventure earned Player of the Year honors, and C.J. Aiken of St. Joseph's earned the Defensive Player of the Year title.

Coach of the Year
Fran Dunphy, Temple

Player of the Year
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure

Defensive Player of the Year
C.J. Aiken, Saint Joseph's

Rookie of the Year
Kendall Anthony, Richmond

Sixth Man of the Year
Ronald Roberts, Saint Joseph's

Chris Daniels Most Improved Player
Earl Pettis, La Salle

All Academic Team
Luke Fabrizius, Dayton
Nemanja Mikic, George Washington
Brian Conklin, Saint Louis
Kyle Cassity, Saint Louis
Juan Fernandez, Temple

First Team All-Conference
Chaz Williams, Massachusetts
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure
Brian Conklin, Saint Louis
Ramone Moore, Temple
Tu Holloway, Xavier

Second Team All-Conference
Kevin Dillard, Dayton
Chris Gaston, Fordham
Ramon Galloway, La Salle
Langston Galloway, Saint Joseph's
Khalif Wyatt, Temple

Third Team All-Conference
Chris Braswell, Charlotte
T.J. McConnell, Duquesne
Kwamain Mitchell, Saint Louis
Juan Fernandez, Temple
Mark Lyons, Xavier

All-Conference Honorable Mention
Chris Johnson, Dayton
Earl Pettis, La Salle
Carl Jones, Saint Joseph's
Halil Kanacevic, Saint Joseph's

All-Defensive Team
T.J. McConnell, Duquesne
Darrius Garrett, Richmond
Andrew Nicholson, St. Bonaventure
C.J. Aiken, Saint Joseph's
Jordair Jett, Saint Louis

All-Rookie Team
Pierria Henry, Charlotte
Jerrell Wright, La Salle
Jonathan Holton, Rhode Island
Kendall Anthony, Richmond
Dezmine Wells, Xavier

For more on the A-10 and the impending March Madness season, check out SB Nation's college hoops news hub. Stay tuned to SB Nation St. Louis for more Billikens' recaps, preview and news updates. Click here for more on the 2012 Atlantic 10 Tournament.