clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 NFL Hall of Fame class: Bill Parcells in, Michael Strahan out, and other questions

The NFL announced this year's Pro Football Hall of Fame class. We discuss who made the final seven and who should have.


On the evening before Super Bowl XLVII, the NFL announced the 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame class. Before the voters even got down to the decision making, people knew someone would be snubbed this year. There were too many strong candidates this year and only seven individuals could be admitted.

The final list of 2013 inductees is as follows:

Larry Allen, OL

Jonathan Ogden, OL

Bill Parcells, Coach

Warren Sapp, DL

Dave Robinson, LB/PK

Curley Culp, DL/OL

Cris Carter, WR

And while they were all fine candidates, well deserving, there were a number of guys left out in 2013 that have "Hall of Fame" written all over them.

Of those left out, Michael Strahan, Charles Haley and Kevin Greene could be labeled as surprises. Since players usually get great consideration, one could argue that Strahan or Haley could have been admitted this year instead of Parcells.

Legendary NFL owners like Art Modell and Eddie DeBartolo Jr. were left out, and they were two of the best in sports history.

Strahan, Haley and Greene should all be back next year with hopes of being one of the final seven, but it will be harder each year. These were players with the numbers, the wins and the championships to be worthy of a plaque. We'll see which one of them gets in first.