clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

VIDEO: Avalanche's Controversial Goal Costs Blues A Point Or Two

What Blues game would be complete without some random call that can be debated ad infinitum by fans? None, that’s what. Last night’s was a bit more costly to the Blues than a questionable penalty or a missed call. I’m talking about, of course, the Jay McClement goal that may or may not be a goal. Witness:

The puck is riiiight on the goal line as Alex Pietrangelo and Matt D’Agostini hit Brian Elliott back into the net, knocking the goal off of its posts. Did it cross before the net came off entirely? Darren Pang emphatically said yes, and heaven knows that FoxSports Midwest showed the replay enough times and from enough angles. Unfortunately, I have to agree with Panger. The net was still on the goal peg when the puck went in. Here’s the determining rule:

78.5 (x) When the net becomes displaced accidentally. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal.

Perhaps the guys could just work on crashing the opponent’s net instead of their own next time.