clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 NHL Awards: Blues Go Home With Jack Adams, GM Of The Year, And Jennings Trophy

Consider tonight a big night for the St. Louis Blues. Despite having to sit through a very awkward awards ceremony (as per usual), Blues fans were rewarded by seeing the team take home some pretty looking trophies. Ken Hitchcock was the first Blues award winner of the night, winning the Jack Adams Trophy:

And by winning it, I mean it was a cakewalk. He had 63 first place votes. Number two was John Tortorella of the New York Rangers. He had five.

Next up for the Blues was Doug Armstrong winning the GM of the Year. His decisions in the front office helped the Blues win their first division title in 12 years, get to the second round of the playoffs, and very nearly win the Presidents’ Trophy.

The Blues final award winners of the night were pre-ordained. Jaroslav Halak and Brian Elliott very awkwardly stood and waived while they were given their mini-Jennings Trophies:

David Backes lost out to the Boston Bruins’ Patrice Bergeron for the Selke Trophy, but did finish second in voting with 698 points. Other surprises of the night were Alex Pietrangelo coming in fourth for the Norris Trophy (and being chosen a second team NHL All-Star) and Brian Elliott and Jaroslav Halak finishing fifth and sixth in voting for MVP respectively.