clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tony La Russa Number Retirement Event To Be Richly Attended

On Friday night, the St. Louis Cardinals will retire the jersey number of former manager Tony La Russa. The long-time, Chicago White Sox, Oakland Athletics and Cardinals manager earned six pennants and three world series rings with Oakland and St. Louis.

According to, the jersey retirement will feature not only a crowd of cheering Cardinals faithful, but also a few major names of the sport:

  • Mike Shannon (master of ceremonies)
  • Dennis Eckersley
  • Dave Stewart
  • Bob Welch
  • Wally Haas
  • Jerry Reinsdorf
  • Roland Hemond
  • Tom Seaver
  • Joe Torre
  • Bob Gibson
  • Lou Brock
  • Matt Morris
  • David Eckstein
  • Brian Jordan
  • Jim Edmonds
  • Andy Benes
  • Alan Benes
  • Walt Jocketty
  • Dave Duncan
  • Barry Weinberg
  • Carole Buck (wife of the late Jack Buck)
  • Red Schoendienst
  • Greg Walker
  • Scott Fletcher

The retirement will begin at 7:00 p.m. CDT with the game's first pitch coming at 7:25 p.m. CDT.

For more news and updates from around the MLB, drop by Baseball Nation with Rob Neyer, or dig deeper into the stats at Beyond the Box Score. Also, check out the team blogs Viva El Birdos and Talking Chop.