clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

St. Louis Post-Dispatch Puts An Asterisk Next To Johan Santana's No-Hitter

The New York Mets' well-documented no-hitter drought ended last night thanks to a) a brilliant outing from left-hander Johan Santana, b) a punchless St. Louis Cardinals lineup and c) a little help from the umpires. The blown call in question happened in the top of the sixth inning when St. Louis right fielder Carlos Beltran roped a shot past the third baseman that clearly kicked up a good amount of chalk. It was ruled a foul ball, and Santana would go on to become the first Mets pitcher ever to throw a no-hitter.

Still, the St. Louis Post-Dispatch wasn't about to let the occasion pass without a proper marking.


Sour grapes? Perhaps, but Beltran's shot should have counted as a hit.

For updates, stay tuned to SB Nation St. Louis. Visit Viva El Birdos for more in-depth coverage of the St. Louis Cardinals. For more general baseball coverage, head over to Baseball Nation.