clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFC Pro Bowl roster 2013: San Francisco has nine players selected

No St. Louis Rams earned a spot on the NFC roster, while the 49ers led all teams with nine selections.

Ezra Shaw

The San Francisco 49ers led all teams with nine players selected to the 2013 NFL Pro Bowl, with Houston (8) New England (7) and Baltimore (6) also leading the way with players selected to their respective rosters.

Denver Broncos quarterback Peyton Manning was named the starter for the AFC team, with 34 touchdown passes and 4,355 yards passing after missing an entire season with a neck injury. Aaron Rodgers will start for the NFC, having passed for 35 touchdowns and just eight interceptions in 2012.

NFL leading rusher Adrian Petersen, who has 1,898 yards and 11 carries, will start at running back for the NFC, while tight end Jason Witten will play behind Tony Gonzalez.

Defensive end J.J. Watt will start for the AFC defense, while outside linebacker Von Miller earned a starting spot in his second season with the Broncos. The Chicago Bears have both starting cornerbacks, as Charles Tillman and Tim Jennings, will start for the NFC team.

The 2013 NFL Pro Bowl will take place on Sunday, Jan 27, 2013 in Honolulu, Hawai'i.